expanding pool but "no such device in pool"

All your general support questions for OpenZFS on OS X.

expanding pool but "no such device in pool"

Postby alobi » Mon Aug 29, 2016 2:43 am

Hi
I am still new in using ZFS on my Mac, but it runs fine since some month.
I had a pool with 3 x 2TB and need more space. So I get three 4TB devices and changed one after the other with "replace".
That works fine so far, but it doesn't expand the capacity. So I want to try some hinds from the forum, but always end up with the line
Code: Select all
no such device in pool


Here what I had done. First the status:

Code: Select all
zpool status tank
  pool: tank
 state: ONLINE
  scan: resilvered 1,73T in 14h0m with 0 errors on Sat Aug 27 03:01:39 2016
config:

   NAME                                            STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
   tank                                            ONLINE       0     0     0
     raidz1-0                                      ONLINE       0     0     0
       media-1C201D55-D215-0D44-AA4F-0E47BCFBCB01  ONLINE       0     0     0
       media-B43ACA83-EE60-DD47-9F7C-03ABD9851426  ONLINE       0     0     0
       media-64881C09-A69B-034F-B792-EC061104BAF2  ONLINE       0     0     0
   logs
     media-54C0E488-7731-47B4-9877-F718DB88A24F    ONLINE       0     0     0
   cache
     media-4793D562-2B9E-420D-BE65-09E183418A49    ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors


So I try to take one out with
Code: Select all
sudo zpool offline tank media-1C201D55-D215-0D44-AA4F-0E47BCFBCB01

but
Code: Select all
cannot offline media-1C201D55-D215-0D44-AA4F-0E47BCFBCB01: no such device in pool


OK. Than I try it with the device name from diskutil, but it makes no difference if I take disk1 or disk1s1, which is the device, always:
Code: Select all
no such device in pool


I have tried some other thinks, but to go on I have to solve this first, I think

Al
alobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:04 am

Re: expanding pool but "no such device in pool"

Postby Brendon » Mon Aug 29, 2016 3:15 am

I think you need to use the device GUID, which you can obtain via "zpool status -g"

Then I think you "zpool online -e guid" for each disk.

Brendon
Brendon
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: expanding pool but "no such device in pool"

Postby haer22 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:56 pm

[quote="alobi"]Hi
I am still new in using ZFS on my Mac, but it runs fine since some month.
I had a pool with 3 x 2TB and need more space. So I get three 4TB devices and changed one after the other with "replace".
That works fine so far, but it doesn't expand the capacity. So I want to try some hinds from the forum, but always end up with the line
Code: Select all
no such device in pool


Have you set the pool attribute "auto expand" to ON?
haer22
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:13 am


Return to General Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests

cron