ZFS boot questions?

We won't tell.

ZFS boot questions?

Postby znubee » Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:20 am

I saw from a thread that you would prefer us to carry discussions over to the forum here for booting to ZFS. I also see that it may not be the best idea yet. I should be able to handle problems that arise, but I would like some advice here.

I have a system with some drives that I can split up. For example, two are SSD drives and the third set of drives I want to put together into a ZRAID. I hate to do it, but I can put the OS on HFS+ and I can put everything else onto ZFS volumes.

Is there a preferred way of mapping User folders and such in this scenario that will minimize conflicts?

Or should I just go balls to the wall and do ZFS on boot? I am a developer so I can work through issues, but I do use this for work and want to minimize headaches.
znubee

Re: ZFS boot questions?

Postby Brendon » Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:21 pm

@znubee

The process for setting up ZFS boot is documented at https://openzfsonosx.org/wiki/ZFS_on_Boot. To my knowledge there has only been 2-3 people that have tried this, including the developer. There are definitely risks and limitations, most of them probably unknown at this time.

ZFS boot is not generally considered to be mature.

- Brendon
Brendon

Postby lundman » Mon Jul 18, 2016 7:00 pm

Pretty much yep.

If you want to play, then play. Run a VM, see how far you can get.

But putting it as boot on hardware that you intend to use? Not quite yet. Too many missing features for it to actually handle all the little finesses in OSX.
lundman

Postby znubee » Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:07 pm

Thanks guys. I'll steer clear of bootable for the moment on a production system.

Let me ask you for your input here then given my use case: