Absolute noob trying to setup mirrored vdevs

New to OpenZFS on OS X (Or ZFS in general)? Ask your questions here!

Absolute noob trying to setup mirrored vdevs

Postby dangriga » Sat Jun 24, 2023 4:25 am

Hi all

I am a videographer that recently bought the owc thunderbay 8 with so far 2x20TB drives. my plan is to have a mirrored setup which i can expend in the future.
I must admit that I am completely overwhelmed. I have searched the internet for hours for a real guide for absolute beginners but so far haven't been successful.

Problem is I cannot even create a pool. I used this command but don't have permission...

zpool create pool1 mirror disk4 disk6
cannot open '/dev/disk4': Permission denied
cannot open '/dev/disk6': Permission denied
cannot create 'pool1': permission denied

No idea why the disks are named disk4 and disk6 as I put them in the first two slots of the thunderbay.

I then tried to give my user permission via the zfs allow command but I only find this where people have already successfully created a pool (for example with this command; chmod A+user:marks:add_subdirectory:fd:allow /tank)

If I am finally able to create a pool I will have 20TB of useable storage. How do I get my files on there as there are two drives in use as one is a mirror? Do I just copy them on the first drive and leave the second one as is? How does that even work?

I hope you can help me here...
dangriga

Re: Absolute noob trying to setup mirrored vdevs

Postby jawbroken » Sat Jun 24, 2023 6:57 am