Absolute Beginner - Raid 1?

New to OpenZFS on OS X (Or ZFS in general)? Ask your questions here!

Absolute Beginner - Raid 1?

Postby Pixxel » Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:56 pm

Hello,

Absolute beginner to ZFS, but I can copy / paste into Terminal.

I have several sets of HFS+ RAID 1 backups at present in an external SAS box, and would like to add another set in ZFS for the anti-bit rot features.

So I have two new Hitachi NAS drives, 3TB each, that I'd like to set up in a ZFS RAID 1 (mirrored), with four partitions thus:

Name of RAID set: zfs_raid1

Partition 1: 500GB, name: zfs_mirror (Copy of bootable HFS+ work volume)
Partition 2: 500GB, name: zfs_weekly_mirror (Weekly copy of above)
Partition 3: 1TB, name: zfs_archive (Data storage, not bootable)
Partition 4: 1TB, name: zfs_tm_archive (Time Machine volume / copy)

Questions:

1. What would I need to type into Terminal to set up the RAID?
2. Do I need to format/partition the two drives with Disk Utility first?
3. What software / command would I use to synch my HFS+ drives to the ZFS partitions? (I currently use SuperDuper / CCC for my HFS+ sets)
4. Would the ZFS partitions be bootable if needed? (assuming the ZFS partition is a copy of a bootable HFS+ volume)
5. If I needed to restore a bootable copy of a HFS+ volume stored on ZFS to a HFS+ volume, is that possible?
6. Will a ZFS partition be recognised / can it be added to Time Machine for backup?
7. Will the ZFS RAID set mount on the desktop / can it be ejected as other HFS+ externals can?
8. Can the ZFS set be set to verify (scrub?) all files regularly or is that a Terminal command when needed?

I'd like maximum compatibility with my other drives (HFS+), if possible, for recovery purposes.

I've found some answers to some of these questions on other ZFS sites, but since the versions of ZFS for Mac seem to vary a bit, I'd like to check and get the answers right for the O3X version.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Pixxel

Re: Absolute Beginner - Raid 1?